Handcontrolled Pilot Membrane Testunit (PSta15-2)

The PSta15-2 is a universal membrane test and small production facility for carrying out experiments in the field of nano-filtration and low-pressure reverse osmosis. The system is equipped with two 2.5 “-stainless steel pressure pipes to accommodate of different spiral-wound modules and can therefore be fitted with various commercially available membrane modules. The universal configuration of the plant and the possible use of different 2.5 ” spiral-wound modules allows test runs over a wide range of industrial membrane applications. The system is compact and transparently constructed and is equipped with an operating level. The system is controlled in manual mode. The required measured values can be read directly by the user. A powerful and robust pump with bypass allows experiments over a wide volume flow range.

The feed solution for the pressure pump is fed via an internal holding tank. This can also be used as the circuit tank and is also ideally suited for cleaning the membrane modules. The level monitoring of the holding tank serves as a run-dry protection for the pump, but also allows medium to be filled via a level-controlled, switchable outlet on the unit. A drum pump with downstream filter protects the refilling and allows flexible system connections in a wide variety of applications. The trans-membrane pressure of each membrane can be measured using the pressure measurement points before and after the membrane. The setting of the membrane overflow is done using diaphragm valves together with a suspended-body flow measurement. To monitor the filtration power, the permeate volume flow is also equipped with two suspended-body flow measurements with adjustable measuring range. In addition, concentrate can be extracted in a controlled manner using a diaphragm valve with flow meter (Feed and Bleed procedure) The piping of the system is PVC (pressure range PN16) and can therefore easily be adapted.

The plant has comprehensive safety features and switches off the system based on freely-adjustable parameters such as over-temperature, over-pressure and low level. A power outage has the consequence that the system does not automatically restart and must be started again by hand.

The system itself is constructed on a hygienic plastic pallet in a compact and user-friendly manner using a stainless tube frame which can be easily extended. In addition to the system’s control- and switching-cabinet, a second cabinet is integrated to accept membrane modules and spare parts. The complete system can be packed with folding wooden frames and therefore easily transported

Possible applications:

  • Tests for comparison of different membrane materials and/or module geometries.
  • Tests for the optimisation of process parameters in industrial applications
  • Long-term trials to check the membrane long-term behaviour
  • Processing of small quantities of raw material
  • Studying fouling tendency
  • Investigation of cleaning strategies / cleaning techniques
  • Feasibility studies
  • Concentration tests
  • Diafiltration tests
  • Feed and bleed tests

Handgesteuerte Membrantestanlage für Pilotversuche (PSta15-2)

Die PSta15-2 ist eine universelle Membrantest- und Kleinproduktionsanlage zur Durchführung von Versuchen im Bereich der Nanofiltration und Niederdruck- Umkehrosmose. Die Anlage ist mit zwei 2,5“ – Edelstahldruckrohren zur Aufnahme unterschiedlicher Wickelmodule ausgerüstet und kann somit mit verschiedenen, handelsüblichen Membranmodulen bestückt werden. Die universelle Ausstattung der Anlage und der beliebige Einsatz verschiedener 2,5“ Wickelmodule ermöglichen Versuchsdurchführungen über einen weiten Bereich industrieller Membrananwendungen. Die Anlage ist übersichtlich und transparent aufgebaut und verfügt über eine Bedienebene. Die Regelung der Anlage erfolgt im Handmodus. Die dafür erforderlichen Messwerte können direkt vom Anwender abgelesen werden. Eine leistungsfähige und robuste Druckpumpe mit Bypass ermöglicht Versuche über ein breites Volumenstromspektrum.

Über einen internen Vorlagebehälter wird die Feedlösung der Druckpumpe zugeführt. Dieser kann auch als Kreislaufbehälter genutzt werden und ist außerdem hervorragend für Reinigungen der Membranmodule geeignet. Die Füllstandsüberwachung des Vorlagebehälters dient zum einen als Trockenlaufschutz für die Pumpe und zum anderen kann über eine füllstandsgesteuerte, schaltbare Steckdose der Anlage Medium zugeführt werden. Eine Faßpumpe mit nachgeschaltetem Filter stellt dabei die Nachfüllung sicher und dient zur flexiblen Anlagenanbindung an unterschiedlichste Gegebenheiten. Der Transmembrandruck der jeweiligen Membran kann über die Druckmessungen vor und hinter der Membran ermittelt werden. Die Einstellung der Membranüberströmung erfolgt über Membranventile in Verbindung mit einer Schwebekörperdurchflussmessung. Um die Filtratleistung zu überwachen, ist der Permeatvolumenstrom ebenfalls mit zwei Schwebekörperdurchflussmessungen mit umstellbarem Messbereich ausgestattet. Zusätzlich kann Konzentrat über ein Membranventil mit Durchflussmesser kontrolliert ausgeschleust werden (Feed and Bleed Fahrweise). Die Verrohrung der Anlage erfolgt in PVC (Druckstufe PN16) und kann somit leicht angepasst werden.

Die Anlage verfügt über eine weitreichende Sicherheitstechnik und schaltet dabei die Anlage bei frei einstellbaren Parametern wie Übertemperatur, Überdruck und zu geringem Füllstand ab. Ein Stromausfall hat zur Folge, dass die Anlage bei erneut anstehendem Strom nicht automatisch anfährt und von Hand wieder gestartet werden muss.

Die Anlage selbst ist auf einer Hygiene-Kunststoffpalette übersichtlich und anwenderfreundlich unter Zuhilfenahme eines flexibel ausbaubaren Edelstahl-Rohrrahmengestells aufgebaut. Zusätzlich zu dem Steuer und Schaltschrank der Anlage wird ein zweiter Schrank zur Aufnahme von Membranmodulen und Ersatzteilen in die Anlage integriert. Die komplette Anlage kann mit Holz- Klapprahmen verpackt und somit sehr gut transportiert werden

Mögliche Anwendungen:

  • Versuche zum Vergleich verschiedener Membranmaterialien und/oder Modulgeometrien.
  • Versuche zur Optimierung von Prozessparametern industrieller Anwendungen
  • Langzeitversuche zur Überprüfung des Membranlangzeitverhaltens
  • Aufarbeitung von kleinen Rohstoffmengen
  • Untersuchung zur Verblockungsneigung
  • Untersuchung von Reinigungsstrategien / Reinigungstechniken
  • Machbarkeitsuntersuchungen
  • Aufkonzentrierungsversuche
  • Versuche zur Diafiltration
  • Feed and Bleed Versuche